The Cory Thabit Family
Senior Letterwinners' Dinner

The Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner is an annual celebration of the student-athletes in the graduating senior class held on the eve of graduation—it is the only time all student-athletes from the graduating class gather together under one roof.

Our 2024 Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner will be held Wednesday, May 22, 2024. Register today!

The 2023 Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner was held Wednesday, May 24—the night before Commencement—in the Bright-Landry Hockey Center. We honored more than 200 student-athletes for their contributions to the culture and success of Harvard Athletics, and 11 major prizes were awarded during the Awards Show portion of the evening. See more about the 2023 event here.

At the 2023 Dinner, we announced that Cory ’90 and Susan Thabit P’18, ’23 have established the Cory Thabit Family Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner Endowment. We are so appreciative of the Thabit family’s support!

You can be a SLD sponsor – learn more today.

To view highlights and award speeches from the 2023 Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner, click here.

  • The Francis H. Burr ’09 Scholarship A scholarship fund established in memory of Francis H. Burr ’09 by his friends. First given in 1918, it is awarded to two seniors, from a men’s team and a women’s team, who combine as nearly as possible Burr’s remarkable qualities of character, leadership, scholarship and athletic ability.
  • The William J. Bingham ’16 Award First awarded in 1954, this award is given annually to that member of a men’s team and the graduating class of Harvard College who, through integrity, courage, leadership, and ability on the athletic fields, has best served the high purpose of Harvard as exemplified by the late William J. Bingham ’16, former Director of Athletics. In short, our most outstanding athlete from a men’s team.
  • The John P. Fadden Award This award was established in 1966 in honor of the late John P. Fadden’s service as an athletic trainer and friend to Harvard athletes for many years. The award is given annually to a senior student (Varsity, JV or Intramural) who has overcome physical adversity to make a contribution to an eligible program.
  • The Radcliffe Prize First established in 1975, this award is given annually to that member of a women’s team, who, through dedication to sport, qualities of leadership, and outstanding ability on the playing field best reflects the purposeful achievement of Radcliffe alumnae in every field around the world. In short, our most outstanding athlete from a women’s team.
  • The Harvard-Radcliffe Foundation for Women’s Athletics Prize Established by the Harvard-Radcliffe Foundation for Women’s Athletics (HRFWA), this prize was first presented in 1986 and is awarded annually to the senior, that competes for a women’s team, who best exemplifies the qualities of excellent scholarship, character, leadership, and athletic ability — in short, our top scholar-athlete from a women’s team. Nominations for this award come solely from Faculty Deans, Senior Tutors or Resident Deans.
  • The John P. Reardon ’60 Men’s Award Established in 1987, this award is named in honor of John P. Reardon, Jr., ’60, Director of Athletics from 1977 to 1990. This prize is presented annually to the senior varsity athlete, that competes for a men’s team, who exemplifies the qualities of excellent scholarship, character, leadership, and athletic ability — in short, our top scholar-athlete from a men’s team. Nominations for this award come solely from Faculty Deans, Senior Tutors or Resident Deans.
  • The Mary G. Paget Prize The Mary G. Paget Prize is awarded annually by the presidents of Radcliffe and Harvard in honor of Mary Guest Paget’s many years of service as Director of Sports, Dance and Recreation at Radcliffe College. The prize was first established in 1975 and is awarded each year to the senior student who has contributed the most to women’s athletics.
  • The Francis J. Toland Community Service Award This award was created in honor of former Senior Associate Director of Athletics Fran Toland, who retired in 2000 after 41 years of service to Harvard athletics. The award is presented to the senior student-athlete who has made the most outstanding contribution to Harvard and its neighboring communities.
  • The Carroll F. Getchell Manager of the Year Award In 1981, the Committee on Athletics voted to name the Manager of the Year Award, established in 1972, for the late Carroll F. Getchell, long-time business manager in the Department of Athletics. Each year the Department recognizes that manager in the senior class “who has best displayed integrity, courage, leadership, and ability” while an undergraduate manager.
  • The Director’s Award Established in 2007, the Director’s Award recognizes the person (or persons) who, through their pursuit of excellence and service to Harvard Athletics, has displayed exceptional leadership, personal character, integrity and commitment to education through athletics.
  • The Arthur L. Boland Award This award was established in 2010 by the Department of Athletics to honor Arthur Boland, MD in commemoration of his 40 years of dedicated service to Harvard Athletics. The award is presented each year to a senior varsity athlete who will be attending medical school and who best exemplifies those characteristics and qualities which have been the hallmark of Dr. Art Boland’s care for Harvard athletes.

Thank You to our Endowment Contributors!
(2015 - present)

Make a gift online
 to contribute to
the continued success of the SLD

National Champion | $100,000

Jacqueline & Jeffrey Tonkel ’92

All-American | $25,000

John Simourian ’57, P’88
Jim Quagliaroli ’97

All-Ivy | $10,000

Bob Anderson ’61
Scott Collins ’87, P’16
Jojo ’88 and John ’88 Boynton
Mary & Richard Jacobson P’16

Captain | $5,000

Louis J. Appell, Jr. ’47 P’73
Bob Glatz ’88
Kimberley & William Anderson P’17

Major H | $1,000

Walter Greeley ’53, P’85
Philip Erard ’54
John Winthrop ’58, P’86
Georges Peter ’59, P’90
Robert  Brooks ’68
Larry Cetrulo ’71, P’06, ’09
Thomas O’Neill ’73, P’00
Brian Hehir ’75, P’08
David Wagener ’76, P’15
William J. Cleary III ’85 P’17, ’19
John McArthur P’85
Jack Coan ’88
Fred Schernecker ’89
Martina Albright ’90 & Jon Bernstein ’90
Andy Freed ’90, P’21
Cindy & Paul Webb P’16
Jim & Liz Fallon P’18
The Allard Family
John Harvey
The Mollerus Family

Become an Endowment Contributor

The Harvard Varsity Club and Department of Athletics established the Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner Endowment Fund in 2017. Ideally, the endowment will provide enough income to dramatically reduce the cost of the dinner (currently $65) for all attendees, allowing more family and friends the opportunity to attend each year. 

Endowment gifts of $1,000 will receive Harvard College Reunion and Class Credit, and will be acknowledged on the HVC website and in the Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner event program indefinitely.

To make a gift, contact the HVC ( or 617-495-3535) or make a gift through the Harvard College Fund by; 

  1. Selecting FAS Athletics under the School/Affiliate dropdown
  2. Selecting Harvard Varsity Club under the fund dropdown
  3. Selecting This is a Pledge Payment and specifying your gift is to the Senior Letterwinners’ Dinner endowment (fund #340-487142RE) in the text box.

National Champion | $100,000 donation
All-American | $25,000 donation
All-Ivy | $10,000 donation
Captain | $5,000 donation
Major H | $1,000 donation